a thanks, a plea, a praise

At the risk of sounding ungrateful, which I vehemently deny I am, I just want to say that I wish blessings came in one straight line. Sure, we all enjoy the paparazzi-like attention, but when your wishes rain on you left, right, front, back, up and down, it kind of gets just a little bit overwhelming.

I wake up in the middle of a four-hour sleep, heart pumping, rummaging every crevice of my brain for something that I failed to do, buy, wash, feed, put to sleep, take, pay, call, read or write. I’m pretty thorough, but the damn thing has won trophies for nonsensical sports like hide-and-seek. I’m pretty sure I’m snoring again by the time the drumming in my chest subsides completely.

I am ever so happy that I am receiving all I’ve asked of you, my Lord, but could you please send the manual on this new-found way to achieving my dreams, too? I’ve got unfinished projects that I desperately hope to get over with soon, unsolicited new ones that I have not had the temerity to respond to just yet, and opportunities that are confusing me close to having a nervous breakdown.

I ask you, Lord, my savior and comfort, to please enlighten me and show me the way you want me to go. Give me the strength and perseverance to endure the tasks that I have chosen to undertake. Help me satisfy the clients who have taken a chance on me when all I had was a prayer. And most of all, help me decide the best way to go. I will take the route you want me to take, the path that you think will be best for me. And may every road I take bring me closer to you, may everything I do give you greater glory.

Should I stay or should I go? My Lord, I lift it all up to you.

Leave a Reply

